1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.



Copyright Jan Duke

Historic Downtown Franklin - Town Square

© Jan Duke

About the City of Franklin Tennessee:

Franklin, with its rich Civil War heritage, is the centerpiece and county seat of Williamson County. With its 15-block historic district, downtown Franklin is listed on many travel guides, and features clothing stores, antique shops, art galleries and more.

From the old-time charm of Franklin, it’s only a couple miles to more modern, expensive homes of NFL stars and famous musicians, and to the Cool Springs area, location of numerous upscale restaurants and the Cool Springs Galleria Mall.

Historic Downtown Franklin Photo Gallery

Official Website:

The city of Franklin's Official Website is www.franklin-gov.com.


Visit the U.S.Census Bureau for all of the most current and latest demographic information on Franklin.

Local Newspaper:


The city of Franklin was named after, you guessed it, the renowned inventor and statesman, Benjamin Franklin.

County Information:

Franklin is located in Williamson County

Originally carved out of a part of the south end of Davidson County, Williamson County was established in 1799 and named after Hugh Williamson (1735-1819), a North Carolina politician, surgeon general, and member of Congress. Williamson County encompasses 582 square miles. There are several cities located within Williamson county and each has its own unique flavor and character.

The cities located within the boundaries of Williamson County include:

Brentwood - Brentwood was originally a rural community of planters and farmers until it began to develop into a business center after the Civil War and is now the northern gateway to Williamson County.

Fairview - Quietly nestled in the northwest corridor of Williamson County, Fairview was incorporated in 1959.

Franklin - Franklin, with its rich Civil War heritage, is the centerpiece and county seat of Williamson County.

Leiper's Fork - Leipers Fork is a tiny woodsy community located about halfway between Franklin and Fairview, and is the home of Puckett's Grocery and Restaurant.

Spring Hill - Situated in both Williamson and Maury Counties, Spring Hill was a small rural community with as many cows as there were people before Saturn arrived. It is home to several historic homes including the Rippavilla Plantation, a 19th century Greek revival Antebellum home.

Thompson Station - Ten minutes south of Franklin is Thompson's Station, which has become a high-priced bedroom community to Williamson, Maury and Davidson County residents.

Triune - Triune is an unincorporated town located in Williamson County Tennessee and home to the Tennessee Renaissance Festival.

Nolensville -

Middle Tennessee Community Information:

There are ten counties, including Davidson County, that make up the Economic Market Area of Nashville and Middle Tennessee. They are an intricate and well blended part of Nashville with many of these area residents commuting and spending a significant amount of time in Nashville. Many locals consider and include most of these areas in as suburbs of Nashville.

These ten neighboring counties include:
Davidson, Cheatham, Dickson, Maury, Montgomery, Robertson, Rutherford, Sumner, Williamson, and Wilson Counties.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.