1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Tennessee Presidents

Presidents from Tennessee


Tennesseans can have three times the fun celebrating President's Day every year because to date, there have been a three Tennesseans that have held the highest title of the country.

1. Andrew Jackson (1767-1845)

Photo Courtesy of the Library of Congress
Our 7th President, Andrew Jackson was president from 1829-1837 and is buried alongside his beloved wife Rachel, just east of Nashville at his home simply entitled The Hermitage.

2. James K. Polk (1795-1849)

Photo Courtesy of the Library of Congress
Our 11th President, James K. Polk was President from 1845-1849. James K. Polk was originally buried at his home, Polk Place, in downtown Nashville until 1893 when his body was moved a short distance to grounds of the Tennessee State Capitol . Today you can find his Ancesteral Home just south of Nashville in Columbia.

3. Andrew Johnson (1808-1875)

Photo Courtesy of the Library of Congress
Our 17th President, Andrew Johnson held office from 1865-1869 and is buried in Greenville at the Andrew Johnson National Historic Site near his home. The President Andrew Johnson Museum and Library museum is located a short distance away at Old Tusculum College.

If I've overlooked something about one of Tennessee's Presidents or if you need me to update, add to, or change it, please feel free to contact me anytime!
Jan Duke

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.